NSW claim Paralympic Football National title

NSW have registered their fifth consecutive Paralympic Football National title, after winning the gold medal match at the tournament in Coffs Harbour.

Bronze Medal Match - Victoria vs South Australia Final Score - South Australia 3 defeated Victoria 2

This match turned out to be a real struggle between South Australia and Victoria. South Australia were the first team to open the scoring through some excellent work by Ryan Kinner. The young Pararoo turned a number of the Victorian players and slotted home a well-placed shot to grab the opener.

Midway through the first half another Pararoo, Thomas Goodman, put his mark on the match by scoring his third goal of the tournament after a well worked play from South Australia. This was followed by another goal shortly after as Brayden Davidson netted to give South Australia a 3-0 lead at the break.

The second half saw Victoria come out fighting as they tried to get back into the match. They managed to pull back the deficit with Ben Roche grabbing a brace to ensure a tense finish. However Victoria were not able to find an equaliser with South Australia holding on to claim third at the tournament.

Gold Medal Match - New South Wales vs Queensland Final Score - NSW 4 defeated Queensland 1

Once again the final of the tournament came down to the two strongest states over the past ten years - NSW and Queensland. NSW were attempting to win their ninth title, whist Queensland were attempting to bring the title north for the second time in the past ten years.

If NSW were going to win their fifth title in a row they would have to do it without experienced NSW Captain Chris Pyne, who was injured in the previous match.

Pararoo Brett Fairhall opened the scoring for NSW in just the third minute of the game after some excellent one touch passing from the NSW team. They doubled their advantage six minutes later when Fairhall latched onto a defensive mistake.

Queensland young gun Stacey Sarago-Ahkees pulled one back in the 27th minute after an error at the other end. However NSW restored their two goal lead minutes later, with Brett Fairhall registering a first half hat trick.

After a tense second half 15-year-old Gordon Allen sealed victory for NSW when he scored their fourth. The goal followed some excellent build up work from young playmakers James Turner, Shaun McCann and James Hunt.

While Queensland tried gallantly to bridge to gap in the closing stages of the final, Pararoo-s goalkeeper Sam Larkings proved impenetrable, NSW running out 4-1 victors.

Former Socceroos Craig Moore presented medals to South Australia, Queensland and New South Wales, as well as the tournament's individual award winners.

2013 Paralympic Football Nationals award winners

Golden Boot Winner: Chris Pyne (NSW) Goalkeeper of the Tournament: Christian Tsangas (VIC) NSW Team player of the Tournament: James Turner QLD Team player of the Tournament: Jarrod Larkins-Law SA Team Player of the Tournament: Ryan Kinner VIC Team Player of the Tournament: Christian Tsangas WA Team Player of the Tournament: Chris Minutillo Player of the Tournament: James Turner (NSW) George Tonna Medal - Man of the Match for Final: Sam Larkings (NSW) Bronze Medal Winners: South Australia Silver Medal Winners: Queensland Gold Medal Winners & 2013 National Champions: New South Wales