Canada defeat Pararoos on penalties in World Cup epic

It was Canada who prevailed over the Pararoos in an all-time IFCPF World Cup classic at Futbol Salou Sports Centre on Tuesday night. 

Daniel Campbell stole the headlines with a spectacular hat-trick, but unfortunately for Australia it would not prove to be enough as the afternoon ended in heartbreak.

While it ended 5-0 to Australia when these nations last met at Cromer Park in November 2019, this clash on foreign soil started out in far more even fashion. 

Campbell found the back of the net on that day, and opened the scoring in Salou with a memorable effort. 

Launching a ball goalward from deep in his own half, Campbell managed to lob Ryan Watson in the Canada net and spark wild scenes of celebration. 

After 46 minutes, Campbell found a second with another stunning long-range effort. 

This time he definitely meant it, launching a pinpoint strike into the top corner with the Canadian defence backing off. 

At 2-0 up with two minutes remaining, the Pararoos looked comfortably on course for a top-ten finish, but they would be stunned by a late Canada fightback. 

Samuel Charron struck in the 58th and 60+2nd minute to send a shellshocked Australia to extra time. 

Things got worse for the Pararoos when Canada were awarded a penalty late into the first half of extra time, with Yuri Costa making no mistake to complete Canada's unlikely turnaround. 

From there it appeared Australia were on course from defeat, until the match took another dramatic twist late, late into extra time. 

With their last chance of the match, deep into stoppage time at the end of extra time, Jeremy Boyce was shoved over in the area and the referee pointed to the spot. 

Under immense pressure, Daniel Campbell made no mistake in powering home his penalty, and sending his nation into a penalty shootout. 

In a heartstopping shootout, it was Canada who prevailed 5-4 in sudden death to book a date with hosts Spain in the 9th v 10th shootout. 

Australia will meet Germany in their final match of the tournament, with the match kicking off at 8:30pm AEST on Saturday, May 14. 


Australia 0-2 Iran

Australia 1-5 USA

Australia 3 (4) - 3 (5) Canada 

Australia v Germany